Select Page

1. Make your Account Private

When you sign up for Instagram your account is automatically made public, meaning anyone can search for you and view your posts. You can change your profile to “Private” in the in-app settings, which means that users must request to follow you and cannot see anything you post until you approve the request.

  1. Go to your profile by tapping the icon of a person at the bottom right of the app.
  2. Tap either the options icons at the top right
  3. Turn on the Private Account setting

Once your account is private, you will get notifications when someone has requested to follow you, which you can either approve or ignore.

If you share an Instagram post to another social network, it may be visible to the public depending on your privacy settings for those networks. For example, a post you share to Twitter that was set to private on Instagram may be visible to the people who can see your Twitter posts.

2. Block Users

Blocking users stop them from finding your account and seeing what you post or contacting you. If someone was already following before you set your posts to private and you don’t want them to see your posts, you can block them.

  1. Tap their username to open their profile
  2. Tap the options icon at the top right
  3. Tap Block User

3. Disable Location Services

When using Instagram, it’s a good idea to make sure your locations services are off, otherwise, Instagram will share your location at the time of your posting.

On an iPhone, open the Settings and tap on Privacy, and you will be able to toggle off location, or choose which apps you want to access it.

Samsung phones have the option to drag down a drop menu from the top of the screen and toggle on and off your location from there. Otherwise, for Android devices, open your Settings app, and use the search bar to find Location and toggle it off.

 

Suggestions

What are you concerned about?

Suggest Topics
Share This