Select Page

The Impact of Your Facebook Privacy Settings

Every time a user posts something online, they are creating a permanent online reputation that stays in cyberspace forever. Once anything is posted to Facebook it becomes public. Even if the user’s account is private, content can easily be copied and shared again. Many workplaces look through Facebook accounts when considering potential employees, and anything that shouldn’t be online could be damaging to future work opportunities.

Facebook is constantly changing and updating its privacy policy in response to user’s growing demands for transparency and control over their online profiles. There are many ways that you can adjust Facebook settings so that it is more secure; controlling who can see what you post online is important in ensuring your online privacy and reducing your digital footprint.

1. Do a Privacy Check-up

A useful tool for a general setting is the Facebook Privacy Checkup. This takes you through different aspects of your profile and the ways you can adjust how private your personal information is. To go to the Privacy Checkup:

1. Click at the top of any page on Facebook
2. Select Privacy Checkup

2. Explore your Privacy Settings

Most of the changes you would want to make can be found in your Privacy Settings and Tools by clicking the arrow in the top-right corner of Facebook and clicking Settings. There you can change who can see your posts, who can add you as a friend, who can see your contact details, and whether search engines can pick up your personal account.

3. Adjust your Post Settings

You can control who can see you in posts that you have been tagged in, for instance, if a friend tags you in a post, but you don’t want their friends that you don’t know seeing your tag.

1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
2. In the left-hand column, click Timeline and Tagging
3. Look for the setting Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your Timeline? and click Edit to the far right

4. Choose an audience from the drop-down menu

4. Enable Timeline Review

When people you’re not friends with tag you in a post, they automatically go to Timeline review for you to accept or remove the tag. If you’d also like to review tags by your Facebook friends, you can do so by adjusting the settings for your Timeline Review.

1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
2. In the left column, click Timeline and Tagging
3. Look for the setting Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your Timeline? and click Edit to the far right

4. Select Enabled from the drop-down menu

5. Enable Notifications for Unrecognised Logins.

You can also change your account settings to receive notifications when a new or unrecognised device logs into your account.

1. Go to your Security and Login Settings by clicking the arrow in the top-right corner of Facebook and clicking Settings.
2. Go to Get alerts about unrecognised logins and click Edit.
3. Choose where you want to receive your alerts, whether it’s an email or a text to a recognised device.
4. Click Save Changes.

Your Facebook Privacy settings play a huge role in your Online Reputation, as Facebook the most easily accessible and extensive source of information about you.

 

 

Suggestions

What are you concerned about?

Suggest Topics
Share This