Select Page

How to Disable Geotagging

geotagging locations

What is Geotagging?

Whenever we share a photo or video online, we are probably unaware of how much information we are giving away. Geotagging is the process of adding metadata to media posted online. Types of media can include photos, videos and links, and the metadata can contain geographical coordinates, location names and timestamps. Apps like Instagram and Facebook embed this data into your posts, leaving behind a trail of where you’ve been and when.

How can I turn it off?

For iPhone:
1. Go to Settings.
2. Select Privacy.
3. Select Location Services.
4. Change the setting to OFF for whichever apps you use to take photos.

For Android:
On most Android phones you should be able to open the standard camera app and click the settings icon (a cog) and scroll down until you find a location or geotagging option. However, your built-in camera may not be the only app using geotagging, So it’s a good idea to make sure your phone’s location services are turned off.

Samsung phones have the option to drag down a drop menu from the top of the screen and toggle on and off your location services from there. Otherwise, open your Settings app and use the search bar to find Location and toggle it off.

Suggestions

What are you concerned about?

Suggest Topics
Share This